February 1, 2021

The Honorable Bill Lee
Tennessee Governor
Tennessee State Capitol
600 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd
Nashville, TN 37243

## **Subject: Tennessee Mayors Supporting the Historic Rehabilitation Credit**

Dear Governor Lee,

As you know, there has been much discussion and broad support across Tennessee to implement a state historic tax incentive. As our communities' elected leaders, we ask that you include funding in your FY2021-2022 proposed budget for a state Historic Tax Credit program. Although money needs to be budgeted this year, the state will not issue credits for at least 12 months following enactment and not before historic rehabilitation projects are completed, certified according to historic preservation standards, and primed for generating tax revenue back to the state.

Funding this incentive would promote adaptive reuse of our historic buildings in Tennessee, many of which are located in downtowns and main streets. These areas have served for generations as the center of spiritual, social, cultural, and economic life. Reinvestment in these communities is made difficult, however, by market forces that compel the highest rate of return and neglect to factor the very attributes that make our state unique. With a state historic rehabilitation incentive, we believe we can "harness our heritage" to spur economic growth in our towns and cities, which is more important than ever due to the negative effects caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Many of these commercial buildings are in poor condition and require significant investment to bring the electrical, mechanical, plumbing, and roofing needs up to code. Most also require significant upgrades to meet fire safety and handicap accessibility needs. We hear time and again how property owners, especially those in areas with smaller populations, are unable to finance the needed repairs for their older and historic buildings. A tax incentive for the rehabilitation of historic buildings will attract investment and breathe new life into our communities. The construction, redevelopment, and jobs start now while the state realizes no fiscal impact until a tax liability is generated one to three years from now. Federal audits and state reports show that once the program is up and running, more revenue is generated than spent. The initial credit is repaid in an average of four to nine years and the businesses continue to pay taxes for years to follow.

President Ronald Regan understood the benefits of incentivizing small-town reinvestment, and he chose to make the federal historic tax credit a permanent part of the tax code, which has supported thousands of adaptive reuse projects ever since. The federal historic tax credit has helped more than 43,000 historic building owners across the country bridge the financing gap between restoration costs and financial viability. **Thirty-eight states, including all those surrounding Tennessee, have enacted legislation to provide state tax relief for owners wanting to restore older buildings.** We believe it is time for Tennessee to encourage stronger economic growth in all our communities through a tax-based incentive for historic rehabilitation, and your support of this incentive would mark the start of a new chapter of growth for our state.

We appreciate your efforts to strengthen communities across the state and believe historic tax credits are an important tool for accomplishing that goal.

Sincerely,

The following Tennessee Mayors and County Executives

## Tennessee Mayors Supporting A Historic Rehabilitation Credit for Tennessee, page 2

Mayor Rogers Anderson Mayor Omer Cox Town of Oliver Springs Williamson County Mayor BW Beasley Mayor Jim Durrett City of Milan **Montgomery County** Mayor Roland A. Dykes, III Mayor Rick Bell City of Lebanon City of Newport Mayor Cliff Berry, Jr. Mayor Rick Graham City of Tiptonville City of Spring Hill **Mayor Robin Brandon Executive Jimmy Haley Stewart County** Warren County **Mayor Kevin Brooks Mayor Jimmy Harris** City of Cleveland **Madison County Mayor Paige Brown** Mayor Diane Harrison City of Gallatin Town of Slayden Mayor Randy Brundige Mayor Randy Heady City of Martin **Jackson County** Mayor Casey Burnett Mayor Jim Hill City of Friendship Town of Gibson Mayor Jake Bynym Mayor Anthony Holt Weakley County **Sumner County** Mayor David M. Byrd **Mayor Randall Hutto Grainger County** Wilson County **Mayor Stephen Chambers** Mayor Mitch Ingram **Trousdale County** Monroe County Mayor Gary D. Chesney Mayor Ricky Jackson City of Morristown City of Trenton Mayor Jamie Clary Mayor Dale R. Kelly City of Hendersonville Town of Huntingdon **Mayor Douglas Collins** Mayor Bill Ketron City of Ducktown **Rutherford County** 

Mayor Jerry Kirkman

City of Westmoreland

Mayor John Cooper

Nashville/Davidson County

## Tennessee Mayors Supporting A Historic Rehabilitation Credit for Tennessee, page 3

**Mayor Mark Potts** 

Jefferson County

Mayor Rhea E. Little, III
City of Brentwood

Mayor Mahlon Luttrell
City of Bristol

Mayor Gary Reasons
Crockett County

Mayor Jeff MasonMayor Dwayne ReynoldsSmith CountyCity of Bradford

Mayor Shane McFarlandMayor John Penn RidgewayCity of MurfreesboroHenry County

Mayor Karen MeltonMayor Jim StricklandCity of SunbrightCity of Memphis

Mayor Chaz MolderMayor Fred A. SykesCity of ColumbiaCity of Rutledge

Mayor Dr. Ken MooreMayor Jeff TibbalsCity of FranklinScott County

Mayor E.L. MortonMayor Becca WernerCampbell CountyTown of Coopertown

Mayor Bill NewmanMayor Chris YoungLincoln CountyDyer County

Mayor Joe PittsMayor Chris YoungerCity of ClarksvilleCity of Dyer