Mayors Supporting A Historic Rehabilitation Credit for Tennessee

April 3, 2019

The Honorable Bill Lee Office of the Governor State Capitol, First Floor 600 Dr. Martin L. King, Jr. Boulevard Nashville, TN 37243

Dear Governor Lee:

Across Tennessee, historic downtowns and main streets are the heart of our communities. These areas have served for generations as the center of spiritual, social, cultural and economic life. Reinvestment in these communities is made difficult, however, by market forces that compel the highest rate of return and neglect to factor the very attributes that make our state unique. With a state historic rehabilitation incentive, we believe we can "harness our heritage" to spur economic growth in our towns and cities.

Promoting the adaptive reuse of Tennessee's vacant storefronts and historic buildings is difficult. Many of these commercial buildings are in poor condition and require significant investment to bring the electrical, mechanical, plumbing and roofing needs up to code. Most also require significant upgrades to meet fire safety and handicap accessibility needs. We hear time and again how property owners, especially those in areas with smaller populations, are unable to finance the needed repairs for their older and historic buildings. A tax incentive for the rehabilitation of historic buildings will attract investment and breathe new life into our communities.

President Ronald Regan understood the benefits of incentivizing small-town reinvestment, and he chose to make the federal historic tax credit a permanent part of the tax code, which has supported thousands of adaptive reuse projects ever since. The federal historic tax credit has helped more than 43,000 historic building owners across the country bridge the financing gap between restoration costs and financial viability. Thirty-five states, including all those surrounding Tennessee, have enacted legislation to provide state tax relief for owners wanting to restore older buildings. We believe it is time for Tennessee to encourage stronger economic growth in all our communities through a tax-based incentive for historic rehabilitation and your support of this incentive would mark the start of a new chapter of growth for our state.

As our communities' elected leaders, we ask that you include funding in your budget for the Main Street Historic and Tourism Revitalization Act, introduced by Representative Vaughn and Senator Watson. Although money needs to be budgeted this year, the state will not issue credits for at least 24 to 36 months following enactment and not before historic rehabilitation projects are completed, certified according to historic preservation standards, and generating tax revenue back to the state.

The construction, redevelopment, and jobs start now, with 25%-40% of the credit being paid back during the construction phase of the project before the credit is issued by the state. Federal audits and state reports show that once the program is up and running, more revenue is generated than spent. The initial credit is repaid in an average of four to nine years and the businesses continue to pay taxes for years to follow.

We appreciate your efforts to strengthen communities across the state and believe historic tax credits are an important tool for accomplishing that goal.

Sincerely,

Tony Aikens, Mayor City of Lenoir City

Bernie Ash, Mayor City of Lebanon

Andy Berke, Mayor City of Chattanooga

Cliff Berry, Jr., Mayor City of Tiptonville

Tim Boaz, Mayor City of Parsons

Kevin Brooks, Mayor City of Cleveland

Paige Brown, Mayor City of Gallatin

Chuck Burris, Mayor Town of Athens

Mike Byrd, Mayor Grainger County

Mack Carter, Jr., Mayor City of Hornsby

William B. Cowan, Jr., Mayor Town of LaGrange

Jonathan Dagley, Mayor City of Wartburg Dwayne Dixon, Mayor Town of Gates

Roland A. Dykes, III, Mayor City of Newport

John Avery Emison, Mayor City of Alamo

Margaret Feierabend, Mayor City of Bristol

Rick Graham, Mayor City of Spring Hill

Joe Grandy, Mayor Washington County

Justin Hanson, Mayor City of Covington

Jeff Harris, Mayor City of Loudon

Lee Harris, Mayor Shelby County

Jill Holland, Mayor City of McKenzie

Jeff Huffman, Mayor Tipton County

Ronnie Lokey, Mayor Town of Bell Buckle Ricky Jackson, Mayor City of Trenton

Denny Johnson, Mayor Lake County

Stan Joyner, Mayor Town of Collierville

Dale R. Kelly, Mayor Town of Huntingdon

Robert W. (Bobby) King, Mayor City of Henderson

Jack Lay, Mayor Town of Oneida

Jim Lee, Mayor Hawkins County

David Livingston, Mayor Haywood County

Pam Mabry, Mayor City of Newbern

Cindy McAdams, Mayor City of Greenfield

Benny McGuire, Mayor Obion County

Julian McTizic, Mayor City of Bolivar

Chris Miller, Mayor City of Philadelphia

Chaz M. Molder, Mayor City of Columbia

Dr. Ken Moore, Mayor City of Franklin

Tim Neal, Mayor City of Kingston Ronnie Neil, Mayor City of Somerville

Andy Ogles, Mayor Maury County

Joe Pitts, Mayor City of Clarksville

Diana Poole, Mayor City of Gleason

William D. Rawls, Mayor City of Brownsville

Madeline Rogero, Mayor City of Knoxville

Jim Sells, Mayor Town of Rogersville

Robert E. Shutt, Mayor City of Savannah

Allan Sterbinsky, Mayor Town of Stanton

Jim Strickland, Mayor City of Memphis

Jeff Tibbals, Mayor Scott County

Mayor Vest, Mayor City of Jonesborough

Michael Whisenant, Mayor City of Fayetteville

Ron Williams, Mayor Town of Farragut